The Holy Grail of Parve Desserts – Ice Cream!!

July 25, 2008

I seem to have accidently stumbled upon the holy grail of parve desserts. A truly delicious parve ice-cream. As someone who loves ice cream, and has been unable to eat any dairy for the past six months, I have been searching for a satisfying substitute. Most recipes I have found call for soy milk and or soy creamer, which leave a strong soy aftertaste that I can’t quite get past. My recent rediscovery of my ice cream maker (prompted by the cleaning out of the freezer enough to have room for the freezer bowl) inspired me, and I wanted to make a delicious, parve frozen dessert for shabbat this week.

Seeing as it took quite a bit of self-control not to eat the leftover strawberry cream cheese frosting from earlier in the week with a spoon, I decided to use it as the base for strawberry ice cream. I added more pureed strawberries until the consistency looked about right, poured it into my ice cream maker, and let it freeze.

The results? Cold, creamy, delicious and full of fresh strawberry flavor, it was everything I had hoped for. I wanted it to be more fun, so there was nothing left to do but turn it into ice cream sandwiches.

One of my shabbat guests, after taking the first bite, exclaimed “this tastes like strawberry ice cream of my childhood!” I couldn’t have hoped for better.

Recipe Updates – Delivered Fresh!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Related Recipes


  1. I wonder if ricemilk would work. I gave up milk while nursing my kids, the ricemilk isn’t half bad and doesn’t have that soy taste. I don’t know if it’s kosher, but you could try?

    Still wondering how they milk the rice, though! LOL.

  2. I haven’t done that much with rice milk, but it is certainly worth a try. I’ll let you know if it is successful.

  3. How can STRASWBERRY CREAM CHEESE FROSTING possibly be PARVE? Is it possible that CREAM CHEESE is now parve?

    • Hi Lynn,
      I use tofutti cream cheese to make the frosting, which is parve. (It is made from soy rather than dairy). Sorry for the confusion.

Comments are closed.